Sanders County Ledger - Your Best Source For Sanders County News

Voters decide school boards


April 30, 2020

Sanders County voters mailed in ballots for local school elections, with the county elections office releasing unofficial results late Tuesday.

In Noxon, Andrew Chaboya Cabaccang and Reuben Habegger were vying for a one-year position. Habegger received 260 votes, while Cabaccang received 185. Current board chairman David Pafford was running unopposed and received 336 votes.

In Thompson Falls, voters chose Ryan Frields and Jacob Helvey to retain their seats on the school board. Helvey received the most votes in the district with 814. Frields received 526 votes to win the second open position, while Ashley Block was just one vote behind with 525.

In the Plains School District, six candidates filed for the two open three-year board positions. Erika Swanson Lawyer and Ron Warren won spots on the school board with 455 and 423 votes, respectively. Other candidates included Ellen Childress (418 votes), Rose Wagoner (366), David Costner (271) and Julie Costner (178). In the other open position, Monica Weedeman received 431 votes to win a one-year term. Weedeman ran against Karrie Shinnick-Lulack (418 votes) and Amy Schrenk (264).

On the Trout Creek School Board, voters chose Mary Meyer and Zachary Hannum to fill two three-year terms. Meyer received 228 votes, Hannum 205, and the third candidate, Ernest Scherzer, 106 votes.

Official results will be published after completion of each district's election canvass.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021