Your Best Source For Sanders County News

City officials chosen

Voters in Plains and Hot Springs cast ballots Tuesday for municipal elections in which they each chose a mayor and town council members.

Sanders County Elections staff released the unofficial results late Tuesday. The results will be validated during a canvass of ballots next week at the courthouse.

In Plains, voters elected mayor Dan Rowan to another term. Rowan received 193 voters and Michael Brinson received 90. Plains voters also elected town council members on Tuesday. Joel Banham received 61 votes for the Ward 1, Seat 2, position. George Stone also ran, but received just 19 votes. The other council members ran unopposed. Connie Foust received 62 votes for Ward 1, Seat 1; Audrey Kolbeck received 52 votes for Ward 2, Seat 2; voters cast 57 ballots for John Sheridan in Ward 2, Seat 1; and Christopher Allen received 108 votes for the Ward 3, Seat 2 position.

In Hot Springs, Randy Woods ran unopposed to retain his position as the town's mayor, receiving 99 votes.

Voters in Hot Springs also elected two residents to the town council and selected from four candidates. Leslee Smith and Cayla Aldridge will serve on the town council, receiving 80 and 66 votes, respectively. The other candidates running for council seats were James Arestad, who received 50 votes, and Tracy Dyson, who received 26.

Thompson Falls officials were elected by acclamation as all of the positions up for election were unopposed. Mark Sheets will serve another term as the city's mayor, while Larry Lack, Earlene Powell and Shawni Vaught were re-elected to the city council.

The election results are deemed unofficial until they can be certified by the county. A canvass of the municipal ballots is scheduled for Tuesday, November 9, at the courthouse.

The 2021 municipal elections were held by mail, with all voters casting their ballots and returning them through the mail or in person at the county courthouse


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 07/15/2024 20:45